Surprise, surprise!

Yesterday I had a big (vacant) staging job to do. I was expecting two deliveries at the property from the rental furniture companies, plus I had to load up my own vehicle with my inventory and be there to meet them by 10 am.  

So, I was not impressed when I awoke to this!  Our winter snow had finally melted, we even had a couple of days with double digits temperatures and we had taken our studded snow tires off when this hit us.

But I had a job to do.  So I bundled up in my winter coat and boots and began loading my vehicle.  Did I mention it was still snowing?   I carefully drove to the property.  Did I mention it was about half an hours drive on a winding narrow road?  The closer I got to my destination the less snow there was. This was the southern region of our metro area and the difference in weather and temperatures is often unbelievable! I  made it safely and whew! I got there before the deliveries.  I unloaded my vehicle in the messy weather (it was snowing there but little accumulation) just in time.  A few minutes later the first company turned up and before they were finished the second one arrived…their competition.  We have all gotten to know each other in this area and there was some friendly teasing about me ‘cheating’ with the competition, but hey, beggars can’t be choosers!  Such slim pickings in this area for furniture I have to use every source available.  I rarely can get all the furniture at one rental business.

By the time I was finished the staging, the sun was shining and the snow was all melted.  As I drove home however, the temperature dropped and we still had a little snow in our area.

Today it is sunny and 4 degrees Celsius…that’s about 39 degrees F.  Looking ahead at the forecast we are supposed to have single digits all week, but hey, if the sun is shining I’m happy! Maybe our cool temperatures have something to do with all the icebergs we are seeing this year…about 2-3 months earlier than usual.

My back deck on April 30, 2012  


Photo of icebergs I took on April 18, 2012 (Look closely and you will see a kayaker circling.)


Two (crazy!) climbers on the same iceberg.  Taken on April 18, 2012 by CBC.

 


Leave a Reply

